The Sterling Foundation Board
meets on the second 
Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m.
at the Sterling Community Center, located at 120 Enterprise Street.

What is the Sterling Foundation, Inc.?

Located in Sterling, Virginia, on the eastern edge of Loudoun County, the Sterling Foundation is an outgrowth of two groups: (1) the SterlingFest Committee and (2) the Sterling Grasshoppers – who maintained Sterling Boulevard in earlier days. The Sterling Foundation was launched in June of 1989 and was incorporated as a nonprofit, tax-exempt 501(c)(3) organization in April of 1990. It is managed by a Board of Directors elected by dues-paying Foundation members.

The Sterling Foundation is an all-volunteer enterprise with very few administrative costs. Our community projects are funded entirely through membership fees, contributions, and grants.

The majority of the Foundation’s efforts during the year are focused on environmental cleanup (litter along the Boulevard, mowings). Funds raised by memberships and SterlingFest – organized by a Committee of the Foundation – are split between ourselves, the Sterling Playmakers, and the Sterling Community Center Advisory Board as respective annual budgets. In this way, your support for the Foundation contributes to enhanced community arts and recreation opportunities.


Every October, on the Saturday preceding the Columbus Day holiday, this annual event provides food, local music and entertainment, fun, community outreach opportunities, and a multicultural celebration, while raising funds for our community organizations. Check out to find out more as we head into 2017, our 30th year!
The 2017 Board of Directors (15)

Aaron Gilman Chairman
Todd Gallant Vice Chairmman
Rebecca Fanning Treasurer and SterlingFest Event Chairwoman
Kathy Gilman Secretary
Jack Kuhn SterlingFest Event Vice Chairman
Nicholas Wilt Director of the Sterling Community Center
Cheryl Villalobos Membership and SterlingFest Vendors

Roxanne Tyra
Ed Linek
Joan Kowalski
Harriet Foster
Rony Coker
Cristina Murray Ortiz
Krista Braxton
Melissa Browning

We truly appreciate all of the hard work and dedication to our community
from the following long time Board Members and Officers:

Kevin Chroninger
Karen Teague-Peko
Phil and Stephanie Hostetter
Tony and Marlene Barney